USC Salkehatchie helds its 2012-13 Academic Reception on April 11.   The speaker was the Honorable Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman of the USC Board of Trustees.  Academic awards were presented to outstanding students in disciplines.  Scholarship recipients for fall 2013 were also recognized.  Click to view photos of the event.

Scholarship Recipients

Kelsey Alfaro Witsell R. Robertson and Josephine L. Robertson Endowed Scholarship
Leslie Bailey USC Salkehatchie Reid’s Scholarship
Taylor Bailey David and Brenda Barnes Scholarship
Samantha Benton H. L..“Luke” Laffitte Endowed Scholarship
J. Paul Detrick Scholarship
Krystle Bazzle Colleton County Rice Festival Scholarship
Witsell R. Robertson and Josephine L. Robertson Endowed Scholarship
Chelci Beach Barbara B. and Carl A. Clayton Endowed Scholarship
Kaila Bishop Martha and Holbrook Platts Scholarship 
Kadie Cannon Tharin Endowed Scholarship
Sarah Craven Cynthia and Ross McMillan Endowed Scholarship
Andrew Derrick D. L. Scurry Foundation Scholarship
Madeline Elkins  Billy Wade Memorial Scholarship
Marilyn Faulks H. L.“Luke” Laffitte Endowed Scholarship
Ellen Fitch Walterboro Rotary Club Scholarship
Andrew Floresca Witsell R. Robertson and Josephine L. Robertson Endowed Scholarship
Hannah Flowers Vivia Peeples Eden Scholarship
Simeon Hammonds Walterboro Civitan Club Scholarship
Elizabeth Hogg Henry A. and Genevieve White Education Scholarship
Zita Mellon Scholarship, John and Julia Myers Scholarship
Mary Holladay Miles and Ann Loadholt Endowed Scholarship
Dominique Hooks D. L. Scurry Foundation Scholarship
Amanda Horn H.L.“Luke” Laffitte Endowed Scholarship 
Butch Phillips Memorial Scholarship
Cordelia Jones The Killion-Waller Scholarship
Philip Kearse Manuel’s Grocery and Barber Shop Scholarship
Neil Sanders Scholarship
MaHallie E. Martin Mary M and William A Clayton Scholarship
Kelly McDonnell Witsell R. Robertson and Josephine L. Robertson Endowed Scholarship
Marybeth McDonnell Leadership Colleton Class of 2008 Scholarship
Jake Parler Harry Lee Foy, Jr. Memorial Scholarship
Laura Rentz Bob and Ginger McCully Endowed Scholarship
Toshyanna Roberts D. L. Scurry Foundation Scholarship
Deneshea Saxton President’s Commencement Scholarship
Kayla Smokes Joe Siren Endowed Scholarship
Representative James B. and Mrs. Barbara T. Brandt Scholarship
Rachel Still Gillam Family Scholarship
Alicia Strock Reid and Louise Boylston Endowed Scholarship
Western Carolina Higher Education Commission Scholarship
 H. and Marie J. Mitchell Endowed Scholarship
James Sweatman Clarence and Virginia Brabham Memorial Endowed Scholarship
Christina Zander Lowcountry Sertoma Club Scholarship
Witsell R. Robertson and Josephine L. Robertson Endowed Scholarship
Briana Zorn David and Maggie Cannon Scholarship

Academic Awards Recipients

The University of South Carolina Salkehatchie is grateful for our friends, businesses and alumni who generously support our scholarship and awards program.

Christopher Bates Laffitte and Warren, Biology
Anna Carol Bell Dr. Shannon M. Pye, Chemistry
Anna Carol Bell Colleton Medical Center, Nursing
Abigail Byrd Colleton Museum, History
Sydney Johns Scotsman, Business Administration
Christine Rice Michael Reno Memorial, Computer Science
Christine Rice Allendale Study Club, Psychology
Scott Saunders USC Salkehatchie Consortium, Education
Ibrahima Seck Palmetto State Bank, Math
Kayla Smokes Walterboro Police Department, Criminal Justice
Edward “Nick “ Williams G. H. Kearse, English

Salkehatchie Scholars 

Salkehatchie Scholars is a competitive academic scholarship program awarded by USC Salkehatchie. Students are selected for this award for their academic achievement during their high school careers and/or first year college success. Salkehatchie Scholars recipients are guaranteed full tuition be covered for both the fall and spring semesters, less other financial aid received. In order to receive this award students must be Life Scholarship eligible, maintain a 3.0 GPA, and maintain full-time status with the University.  The 2013 Salkehatchie Scholars are:

Taylor Bailey, Chelci Beach*, Kadie Cannon, Sarah Craven, Madeline Elkins*, Hannah Flowers, MaHallie E. Martin, Christa Natividad, Jake Parler*, Kali Rose

*second-year Salkehatchie Scholar recipients